Student Reviews

  • Posted on: 14 June 2016
  • By: ursulagross
Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
The Breadwinner Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781554987658
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Groundwood Books - May 12th, 2015

The Breadwinner is a really touching story. Parvana has a truly amazing story to tell to all people. After reading this book you'll want to read it over and over and over again. Parvana and her friends have amazing personalities and they are unstoppable. I recommend this book to every person out there! Funny or sad this book is just incredible. Parvana's father is arrested and she will do anything to get him back. Find out what happens next in the Breadwinner! (p.s. this is a series). -- Isabella


Staff Pick Badge
My Survival: A Girl on Schindler's List Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338593792
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - December 26th, 2019

My Survival A Girl on Schindler's list is from Rena's perspective and is about a girl and her mother and their journey through World War II as Jewish people. Oskar Schindler was a man who needed workers in his bullet factory and lucky for him and the workers at Auschwitz were nearby. Does Rena survive? How does Oskar save their lives, and why? Read this book to find out! Readers of Prisoner-B3087 will really enjoy this book. -- Keeleigh


Staff Pick Badge
Sunnyside Plaza Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316531207
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

Sunnyside Plaza is a home for people with disabilities. Sallie has lived at Sunnyside Plaza most of her life. One day someone suddenly dies! No one knows what to do, what will happen to them? Read this book to find out! Readers of Charlie and Frog will love this book. -- Keeleigh


Staff Pick Badge
The Year We Fell From Space Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338236361
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - October 15th, 2019

The Year We All Fell From Space is about a girl named Liberty and the struggles of her parents getting a divorce. At least she has the stars to rely on and when they give her a sign to make a bargain will she keep her half of the bargain? Will she be able to put her family back together again? Readers of The War That Saved My Life will love this book! -- Keeleigh


Staff Pick Badge
Jinxed Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781492683742
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

I recommend Jinxed because it has lots of twists and turns and it's full of surprises! The author's words painted a picture in my head which made it more interesting. I couldn't stop reading it because I wanted to know what would happen next! The main character faces many challenges to her dreams and lots of relationship challenges. Her friend Tobias takes her by surprise with his actions and thoughts. You'll enjoy the build-up! -- Maralinda


Pre-Order Now Badge
Homer's Excellent Adventure Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781944821876
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: CBAY Books - April 7th, 2020

The book Homer's Excellent Adventure by P.J. Hoover was an amazing read! It was a great retelling of the book Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure and is sure to catch your attention if you love mythology. It is about a boy who needs a story to tell his teacher or he will lose everything he loves. He goes into the past and fights monsters and prays to gods. Will Homer find the excellent story he needs or will he lose his farm and his mother? Find out by reading Homer's Excellent Adventure! -- Riley


Staff Pick Badge
The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) Cover Image
By Antonio Iturbe, Lilit Thwaites (Translated by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250258038
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - October 1st, 2019

Being Jewish, The Librarian of Auschwitz was especially hard for me to get through. However, I am very glad I have read it. While it is full of suspense and sadness, this book is also full of hope. I felt like I was in the characters' shoes, and was experiencing what they were. This was an amazing book, that I would highly recommend to anyone interested in World War II and the Holocaust. -- Sabrina


Staff Pick Badge
The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250196705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - January 8th, 2019

When you read a lot, sometimes you don't remember every scene of a book, but The Remarkable Journey Of Coyote Sunrise was not at all like that. I loved this book so much and it gave me a different perspective on how some people choose to live. The characters give you something to think about besides just the plot of the book, as they are intriguing and complex. I love how this story is told and if you like cats, Ivan may be one of your favorite characters. -- Sabrina


Staff Pick Badge
Akata Witch Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780142420911
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - July 11th, 2017

I didn't think I'd find Akata Witch super interesting, but I couldn't peel my eyes off it once I started. Akata Witch gives an amazing way to learn about a different culture and has relatable characters. If you're looking for a book that has a touch of magic, beautiful descriptions, and an amazing friendship, I would totally recommend this book!!! -- Sabrina


Staff Pick Badge
Malamander (The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea) Cover Image
By Thomas Taylor, Tom Booth (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536207224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walker Books US - September 10th, 2019

The Malamander takes place on Eerie on Sea, a foggy little town full of mysteries. Follow a lost and founder named Herbie Lemon as he joins his friends to discover the truth behind the legend of the Malamander. Will the uncanny Mermonkey, the town doctor, the beachcomber or the local librarian be the key to saving the Malamander? This book will have you questioning peoples true intentions. -- Brady


Staff Pick Badge
Scythe (Arc of a Scythe #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781442472433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 28th, 2017

Scythe by Neal Shusterman is an intriguing book about a future of humanity and the nature of mankind. It makes the reader think about life and death, while also bringing in twist and turns throughout the book. My book club is currently reading it and loving it, I am sure you will too! I would give it a 4/5. -- Zoey


Staff Pick Badge
It's the End of the World as I Know It Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780735228016
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - September 24th, 2019

It's The End of the World as We Know It is a great book written by Matthew Landis. In the book, Derrick is sure that an apocalypse is coming in a few weeks. Derrick tries to prepare for the worst and his neighbor Misty offers to help. When the day of the predicted apocalypse arrives it happens in a way he least expected, but it helped him learn about himself, and his friends and family! I think fans of Gordon Korman will love this novel because it is intriguing and interesting from beginning to end. -- Finn


I think the Lighting Thief by Rick Riordan is an amazing book.Its the perfect combination of Greek Mythology and today's world. Its the first book of the exciting Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I would recommend this book to any one who likes action-packed, exciting, interesting novels. Overall I would rate this book 5 stars! -- Finn


Staff Pick Badge
A Tale of Magic... Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316523479
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

A Tale of Magic is a beautiful, breathtaking and remarkable fairy tale. Brystal Evergreen is an intelligent girl in the Southern Kingdom who loves to read and perform magic. Unfortunately, it is against the law for Brystal to do things she loves and she is sent away to The Bootstrap Correctional Facility for Troubled Young Women where she is treated horribly. Thankfully, Brystal is rescued by a fairy called Madam Weatherberry who will teach her how to control her magic. It is not long until Brystal's skills are tested when a conflict occurs in the Northern Kingdom. I highly recommended this magical tale! -- Annika 


Staff Pick Badge
Skyjacked Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338047417
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - July 30th, 2019

Skyjacked is one of the most intense books I have ever read. When five high school kids find themselves in the middle of a hijacking it's a matter of life or death. The Air Force might blow them up - maximum death toll 5 kids, 1 chaperone and 2 pilots. Can they figure out who the hijacker is before it's too late? Paul Griffin wrote one of the best books I've ever read! This is a must read for people who enjoy action. -- Wyatt


Staff Pick Badge
The Science of Breakable Things Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781524715694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - May 21st, 2019

The Science of Breakable Things is a fun and well written book. Natalie's Mom is in a deep state of depression and Natalie makes it her mission to help her. Natalie, her best friend Twig, and the school nerd, Dari, go on an adventure that takes an unexpected twist. I loved the liveliness of the characters and I highly recommend this book. -- Anoushka


Staff Pick Badge
Belly Up (FunJungle) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416987321
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - July 5th, 2011

Belly Up is an exciting mystery novel. Teddy Fitzroy and his friend Summer are trying to solve the case of who killed FunJungle's beloved mascot, Henry Hippo. FunJungle is a huge and remarkable Zoo and tourist attraction. Their investigation proves to be a frightening and eventful journey. I highly recommend this book if you are fond of animals, mystery and adventure. Belly Up is a fun and enjoyable read. -- Annika


Staff Pick Badge
A Night Divided (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545682442
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 24th, 2018

The wall went up overnight. A Night Divided is a historical fiction about Greta, a 12-year-old girl, and her family divided by the Berlin Wall. Her father and brother are on the West side, while she, her mother, and her other brother are on the East side. Greta is determined to escape to the West. This is one of my favorite historical fiction books ever! I would recommend to fans of The Book Thief. -- Logan


Staff Pick Badge
Level 13 (A Slacker Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338286205
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - June 25th, 2019

Level 13 is another great book by Gordon Korman. When Cameron Boxer wants to start a streaming channel, he has to find a way to hand off the responsibilities of the P.A.G. (Positive Action Group) he created to someone else. So he spreads the rumor that he has bad grades and uses the extra time on his channel. It works so well he even has some of the smartest kids in school giving him answers to tests! But when the Principal makes him the Valedictorian, the entire school hates him. Can he make it up to them? A great read for people who enjoy realistic fiction. -- Wyatt


Staff Pick Badge
Elementals: Ice Wolves Cover Image
By Amie Kaufman, Levente Szabo (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062457998
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - February 26th, 2019

When the little trust between the Ice Wolves and Scorch Dragons is broken, Anders and his twin sister, Rayna, find themselves desperately trying to stop the next Great Battle. Can they do it? A must read for fans of action and fantasy, the Elementals Series is one of the best series I have ever read! -- Wyatt


Staff Pick Badge
Contagion (The Dark Matter Trilogy) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781580899895
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Charlesbridge Teen - July 9th, 2019

I would recommend this book to readers that enjoy sci-fi novels. This book kept me on the edge of my seat! Two teenagers are living in Scotland when a deadly epidemic starts. Can they survive? The only thing I didn't like was that one of the characters was a ghost. Overall, Contagion is a great read, and I can't wait for the second book to come out! -- Logan


Staff Pick Badge
Dry Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481481960
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

This is one of my favorite Neal Shusterman books. When the taps go dry everyone is fighting for water. Can Alyssa and Henry survive? I would recommend this book to readers who like apocalyptic books. I loved the character development in Dry. It was a total page turner; I loved it! -- Logan


Staff Pick Badge
The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525646402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - April 9th, 2019

I would recommend this book to readers who like dark twists and turns. When Maisie, on her 10th birthday, opens the door to an infinite darkness, the reader's nerves kick in. Maisie faces obstacles to find out how to stop the infinite black by herself. This book kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't stop reading it! I guarantee you will love this book! -- Tylie


Staff Pick Badge
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781481455923
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 1st, 2015

"All the stories are true." The Mortal Instruments series is a spectacular series about forbidden romance, demons, angels, and everything in between. From the very beginning to the end the action never stops. I fell in love with the fantastic world Cassandra Clare created, full of characters of different backgrounds and personalities into a fight to protect all: humans, werewolves, vampires, warlocks, faeries, and shadowhunters. The novels will capture your time and the world will capture your heart. I highly suggest picking up City of Bones! -- Zoey


Staff Pick Badge
Throne of Glass Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781619630345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - May 7th, 2013

The Throne of Glass series is a captivating and enticing series about a bad a** woman assassin in a world where magic disappeared. Each book got better than the last and can make you laugh, cry and want to throw it across a room. It's my favorite series and I would highly recommend this book to everyone who loves romance, drama, action, strong characters, and magic. -- Zoey


Staff Pick Badge
Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062838377
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - April 2nd, 2019

The Strangers is a fast-paced book and a great read. It was edgy but interesting for some readers and it has shocking twists and turns. My favorite character was Emma who may not be the oldest but shes the smartest. The book was sad at some points but the characters recover from a difficult experience. I would recommend this book to children from nine to thirteen who enjoy a good adventure. -- Tylie


Staff Pick Badge
The Revenge of Magic Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481485777
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - March 5th, 2019

Revenge of Magic is a book of mystery and action. Fort finds himself in a sticky situation when his world is flipped upside down. He finds himself in a magic school where everyone is leery of him and he doesn't know why. Secrets unfold the deeper you get in the book. If you love magic and mystery you'll LOVE this book. -- Brady