Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
The One and Only Ivan Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780061992278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - January 6th, 2015

I have read "The One and Only Ivan" three times. It is absolutely awesome! It is my all-time favorite book in the world. I read it once in fourth grade and twice in fifth grade. I have read it so many times, because you can follow the plot, and the character twists really well. It flows so smoothly. Also, it has really good detail. The author is Katherine Applegate. This book is about a gorilla who lives in a zoo in a mall. And he has a cool friend named Bob. Bob is a Chihuahua, a weird little sort. He was once given a crayon and a piece of paper by a girl named Julia. Ivan started to draw! He put one line then another, and another. Soon the paper was full and he started putting his art in the gift shop. he also got money for them. At the beginning of the book, he said that he wanted to be free. He has been working up to that moment his whole life. Check out this book to see how it ends! -- Paryn


Staff Pick Badge
Because of Winn-Dixie Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780763680862
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Candlewick - December 8th, 2015

I think Because of Winn-Dixie is a great book for kids and good readers! I like it because there is a dog and a girl who meet many nice people. I really like the book! -- Jack


Staff Pick Badge
Dinosaurs Before Dark (Magic Tree House (R) #1) Cover Image
By Mary Pope Osborne, Sal Murdocca (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780679824114
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 28th, 1992

Magic Tree House is a good chapter book series. It is about two kids in a tree house that takes them around the world! -- Jack


Staff Pick Badge
Dog Man: From the Creator of Captain Underpants (Dog Man #1) Cover Image
By Dav Pilkey, Dav Pilkey (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780545581608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - August 30th, 2016

Dog Man is a very good comic book for kids. So if you like adventure you should read it! -- Jack


Staff Pick Badge
The Bad Guys (The Bad Guys #1) Cover Image
By Aaron Blabey, Aaron Blabey (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780545912402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - December 27th, 2016

Bad Guys is a good comic book for people who love funny books, so read it sometime. -- Jack


Staff Pick Badge
When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

When Stars are Scattered is an inspirational and heartfelt graphic novel by Victoria Jamieson and Omar Mohamed.  The book is about Omar and his little brother Hussan who live a harsh life in a refugee camp in Kenya. Omar has the life changing opportunity to acquire an education at a school, but by accepting this opportunity he would no longer be allowed to be with Hussan. When Stars are Scattered is a book that captures hope,  brokenness, and brotherhood by showing us Oman’s life through remarkable illustrations and incredible writing. -- Annika


Staff Pick Badge
Sisters of Sword and Song Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062471413
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - June 23rd, 2020

Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross, is a amazing story of two sisters who fight for what's right and overcome any challenges that come in their path. Halcyon, the older of the two sisters, has been training in the military to improve her social status for 8 years during which she had not seen her family. However, when she comes home, it is not in glory but in shame. She sneaks through her sister (Evadne’s) window, begging for food. She explains she is on the run, and she has a committed a crime, but she wont tell Evadne what she did. Soon however she gets caught and both sisters' worlds turn upside down. -- Anoushka


Staff Pick Badge
The Silver Arrow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316539531
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

It is about two kids, Kate and Tom, who go on an adventure in a magical train named The Silver Arrow. On their train adventure, they meet animals who talk along the way. I liked that it was super magical! I think all kids 6-12 years old would like it too! -- Berkley


Staff Pick Badge
Pacey Packer: Unicorn Tracker Book 1 (Pacey Packer, Unicorn Tracker #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984850546
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

Pacey is babysitting her sister and it ends up in an adventure where Pacey tries to find her sister in a unicorn land. I liked that there are a lot of unicorns and that it's a very exciting book. I can't wait until the next one! I think girls 6-12 years old would like it too! -- Berkley


Staff Pick Badge
Broken Things Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062224132
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - October 2nd, 2018

When it comes to reading, I absolutely fall in love with anything original and strange. This novel is both. It’s been years since Mia and Brynn supposedly murdered their best friend Summer in the name of the book they all adore, The Way into Lovelorn. The thing is, both of them know that they had nothing to do with the killing. They have no choice but to resort to the twisted, unfinished fanfiction they’d written before Summer’s death to try and clear their names and find out what really happened to their friend in the woods all those years ago. Edging on fantastical and yet still grounded in the real world and based on the chilling true story of the Slender Man case, Broken Things will leave you speechless. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Bloom Cover Image
By Kevin Panetta, Savanna Ganucheau (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626726413
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - January 29th, 2019

I really, really loved this one. Ari knows that the last thing he wants to do is inherit his family’s bakery. Hector is pretty sure that baking is the one thing he’s good at. When they meet, they couldn’t be more different, and yet as they become friends it’s clear that the two mean more to one another than they’d ever thought was possible. Bloom explores the hurt, heartbreak, and healing of growing up, questioning yourself, and accepting who you are without prejudice—even if being that person means you have to fight for the acceptance you know you deserve. I love the graphic novel format, the artwork, the thought put into all of the characters… this book is definitely worth it. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
The Hazel Wood: A Novel Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250147936
Availability: Backordered
Published: Flatiron Books - March 26th, 2019

Alice Proserpine is always a step away from the strange bad luck that follows her family wherever they go—and they’ve been a lot of places. She has no intention of exploring her grandmother’s mysterious legacy as the author of a series of violent, haunting fairy tales, but her mother disappears it suddenly seems like she doesn’t have a choice. Melissa Albert blurs the real into the fantastical with her dark setting, flawed characters, and unforgettable plotline. The Hazel Wood is another one of those books that’ll give you a lot to think about, regardless of what you thought of the story. And if you’re not satisfied with all that happily-ever-after fairy tale stuff, I can assure you, look no farther than this book. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781442408937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2014

I have to admit, this wasn’t a book that I got in the mail and automatically decided to read. In fact, it took months for my fascination to grow into the patience to actually start… and my only regret is, Why did I not read this sooner? I seriously cannot express in words the extent of my absolute love for this book, for this story, for these characters. Aristotle is struggling with his anger, and the knowledge that his elder brother is in prison. Dante is looking for a friend. They have very little in common, and yet one day at the swimming pool changes their lives forever. I think it’s rare to find a story that makes you feel so much simply by holding it in your hands, and even more extraordinary to read a book that changes the way you see not just yourself, but the world. Aristotle and Dante is both. I am so, so, so in love with this book. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Sawkill Girls Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062696618
Availability: Backordered
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 7th, 2019

“Beware of the woods and the dark, dank deep. He’ll follow you home, and won’t let you sleep.” And so begins Claire Legrand’s Sawkill Girls. I was intensely creeped out by this book, and I guess I’m the sort of person who gets scared easily, but seriously; don’t read it at night. Marion has just moved to the island of Sawkill Rock, a supposed paradise. What she doesn’t know is that the island has been haunted by the elusive Collector for decades, a sinister creature responsible for the disappearances of dozens of girls. Marion, Zoey, and Val all have reason to hate the beast—and each other. But if they want to truly save the island, they’ll have to work as a team to destroy the phantom stalking them. I was enthralled by the gruesome descriptions, the strangeness of the setting, and the love that grows between the protagonists as they struggle to accept the brutality of their world, the differences in themselves, and the strengths that lie in one another. If you’re a fan of Rory Power’s Wilder Girls or Burn our Bodies Down, or really any book that keeps you up at night, this one is 100% for you.    -- Maya 


Staff Pick Badge
The Scorpio Races Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545224918
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 1st, 2013

This was the first Maggie Stiefvater book I read, and I was kind of in awe of it. Her worldbuilding and character development are as fantastic as in her Shiver trilogy, and the bloodthirsty, savage horses add a nice twist. In fall, each rider must test their strength and their sanity to stay aboard their murderous mount, but the facts cannot be ignored: some riders are going to make it; some riders are going to die. Puck Connolly, the first girl to ever compete, and Sean Kendrick, four-time victor, are both racing this year. They’re aware of the high stakes, and of each other, but when feelings start to emerge between them, it becomes painfully clear… there can only be one victor. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Felix Ever After Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062820259
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 5th, 2020

This is the sort of book the world needs. Felix is grappling with what it means to be black, gay, and transgender in a society where being just one of the above can prove challenging. When a transphobic act reveals a gallery of images of Felix before he transitioned, he’s ready for revenge; however, what he isn’t prepared for is the emotional rollercoaster that follows. I love the way this book vouches for the equality of all people, no matter how they identify or who they are—this is the kind of story that is going to change lives. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
The Fault in Our Stars Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780142424179
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 8th, 2014

This is a book I read this summer (at my sister’s recommendation). Hazel Lancaster is fighting a losing battle with a serious cancer when she meets Augustus Waters, and suddenly, life isn’t the only thing she’s battling for. The love that blossoms between them is beautiful and painfully brief. Seriously, I’m not the kind of person who gets choked up every time I read a sad story, but this book really did bring tears to my eyes. Read it—John Green is a pretty awesome author, and the book’s been turned into a (not as awesome) movie. Anyway, the book’s good enough on its own. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Wilder Girls Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525645610
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - June 2nd, 2020

I can’t believe this novel is the first published by Rory Power because it was positively fantastic (not to mention bizarre, freaky, and totally unique.) Hetty, along with a couple dozen other girls, are stuck at their boarding school on Raxter Island, being ravaged by a sinister disease known as the Tox and trapped inside a forest brimming with creatures made bloodthirsty and savage. Hetty and her friends, Reese and Byatt, must try to stay alive despite the woods, the illness inside them, and the brimming savagery growing within their own classmates and teachers as the fight to survive becomes deadly. I love the way this story is told, that despite the fact that the world is slowly falling to pieces around them, Hetty, Byatt, and Reese are still able to find freedom, life, and love the way they want it. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Salt to the Sea Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780142423622
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - August 1st, 2017

Ok, so Ruta Sepetys wrote five fantabulous books but I picked my favorite two (not easy) to review. Salt to the Sea introduced me to four of the most memorable characters I’ve ever read; Joana, a Lithuanian nurse, Florian, a Prussian soldier, Emilia, a Polish girl close to the end of her pregnancy, and Albert, a young Nazi with grand hopes for his future. As they board the Gustloff, a ship they hope will carry them to safety, they begin to realize that despite their very different backgrounds, they can all help one another survive what will come to be known as one of the largest maritime tragedies history has ever experienced. A brutal look at four intersecting lives in the midst of World War II, Salt to the Sea is an unforgettable, heartbreaking journey that will open your eyes to the parts of the past we’ve never been taught. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Out of the Easy Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147508430
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - March 4th, 2014

I was never really in to the historical fiction genre until I started reading Ruta Sepetys’s novels, and every single one so far has completely blown me away. In Out of the Easy, Josie Moraine, known locally as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, is plotting to escape her home in 1950’s New Orleans and go to college. However, a murder in the French Quarter sets of a chain of activity that soon draws Josie into the fray, along with her mother and a notorious criminal who will gladly make Josie’s dreams impossible. This novel is a hauntingly beautiful, well-researched glance at the life of a girl in 1950’s New Orleans, and how hope, no matter how small, can make all the difference. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
The Wolf Wilder Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481419437
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 6th, 2016

I read this one a couple years ago and it’s still one of my favorite books EVER. Fao and her mother are tasked with caring for wolves—not the average wild canines of the Russian wilderness, but the animals that have actually been taken in to wealthy households and made into pets… until they prove that wolves do NOT make good housemates, and are dropped off at the Wolf Wilder’s home to be rehabilitated into the wilderness. This story follows the everlasting love between a girl, her mother, and their half-wild pack of wolves. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Scythe (Arc of a Scythe #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781442472433
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 28th, 2017

Scythe by Neal Shusterman is an intriguing book about a future of humanity and the nature of mankind. It makes the reader think about life and death, while also bringing in twist and turns throughout the book. My book club is currently reading it and loving it, I am sure you will too! I would give it a 4/5. -- Zoey

Reading this book had me kind of freaked out. The story takes place in a futuristic world where human beings have conquered everything; global warming, illness, weather… even death. However, to keep the population at bay, Scythes are trained to ‘glean’ people at random, regardless of age or status. Citra and Rowan are both apprentices bearing the weight of what they must grow to do, when they discover the corruption in the ranks of the world’s Scythdom. How easy is it to abuse power, when the world relies so heavily on you and your own? This book is a chilling glance at a future that is both idyllic and horrifying, honest and false. -- Maya   


Staff Pick Badge
The Similars Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781492691808
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - September 3rd, 2019

Emmaline Chance lost her best friend, Oliver, over the summer… only to return to her elite private school to find his clone, Levi, one of six genetic twins made of her classmates, in his place. A relatively quick, easy read, The Similars had me questioning what makes us original as individuals—and how easily that originality can be replaced. However, beware of the TOTALLY UNEVEN SEQUEL!!! -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Renegades Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250180636
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - October 2nd, 2018

I swear, these books get better as you go. Marissa Meyer is fantastic as always with her superhero-themed trilogy—one protagonist bent on avenging her family, the other set on seeking justice for his mother. On different sides of the lasting rivalry between heroes and villains, Adrian and Nova didn’t mean to meet or feel anything for one another. But love has a way of surprising us, and these two are certainly no exception. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Book One) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780439023528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - July 1st, 2010

A brutal and still beautiful look at a futuristic America in which the twelve Districts must sacrifice a boy and a girl between the ages of 12 and 18 to compete in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death broadcasted to the entire country. When Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister’s place in the games, she never expected to survive long enough to be a contender … let alone to become her country’s chance at liberation, hope, and a brighter future. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Shiver (Shiver, Book 1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545682787
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 29th, 2014

Shiver—Linger—Forever… bittersweet and beautiful, the trilogy follows the romance of Sam, the boy who’s been turned into a wolf, and Grace, the girl who finds herself becoming one. The Wolves of Mercy Falls offers an entirely new look at a common myth—werewolves have never seemed so human. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Throne of Glass Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781619630345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - May 7th, 2013

The Throne of Glass series is a captivating and enticing series about a bad a** woman assassin in a world where magic disappeared. Each book got better than the last and can make you laugh, cry and want to throw it across a room. It's my favorite series and I would highly recommend this book to everyone who loves romance, drama, action, strong characters, and magic. -- Zoey

So actually, as I’m writing this, I’ve just finished book 6; Tower of Dawn. This series stands out in so many ways: the worldbuilding is fantastic, the writing is beautiful, and the characters develop and change throughout the story. Celaena is a young assassin sent to compete in a deadly competition to win the favor of the king, and as the books go on, the story gains complexity and emotion as one girl fights for her rightful place in a world rife with magic, demons, love, hate, and hope in hidden places. While reading, I’ve sometimes felt that the fantasy cliches were a little much that the storyline was a bit too obvious… but read on! Because as the books continue, I’ve found myself so blown away by the depth of the plot and the characters. This series takes a little longer to read, as the books just keep getting bigger, but all in all, it’s definitely worth it. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Cinder: Book One of the Lunar Chronicles Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250768889
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - February 4th, 2020

This was Marissa Meyer’s first series… and omg I LOVED it! So picture your average fairytales, such as Cinderella, Snow White, Rapunzel, Little Red riding hood… and mash those with a high-tech science fiction universe in which people who’ve colonized on the moon have (potentially deadly) powers, a lethal plague is sweeping through every continent on earth, and an evil queen with the power to disguise her true appearance is bent on controlling the galaxy… pretty great, right? At first glance, fairy-tale-remake meeting the sci-fi genre seems to clash chaotically, but thanks to Meyer’s skill and imagination, the story fits together just fine. I had such a great time reading these books last summer; they’re easy to get through and deeply moving at the same time. This is a pretty awesome series to binge-read when you’ve got the time (which I’m guessing, most of us do). -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Beginning Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316453691
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

Stamped is an inspirational book that really helped me comprehend how race affects our society today. This book is well written and explains the origins of racism in Europe and how it spread to the United States. This is a great way for kids to gain a critical and thorough understanding of racism in the United States today. -- Annika


Staff Pick Badge
Maya and the Rising Dark Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328635181
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 22nd, 2020

Maya and the Rising Dark is a book full of action and wonder! For her entire life, Maya’s dad has been telling her stories from myths and legends. However, when her father goes missing Maya figures out the legends were real and her father is the Guardian of the Veil - a role Maya herself will someday acquire. Maya also learns she is a godling half human half orisha. With the help of her friends Maya has to get her father back before it’s too late. -- Anoushka


Staff Pick Badge
Burn Our Bodies Down Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525645627
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - July 7th, 2020

Burn our Bodies Down is the kind of book that will keep you up at night. Margot Nielsen had lived with her mother her whole life, with no knowledge of any family beyond the two of them. So when she travels to a nearby town in hopes of meeting her reclusive grandmother, she never expected to be faced with a series of violent secrets about the Nielsen women—or to find herself slowly becoming just like them. This book is terrifying in its bizarreness, and full of twists and turns that you won’t see coming. I recommend it to anybody who isn’t afraid to be a little freaked out. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Agnes at the End of the World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316487337
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 9th, 2020

Agnes at the End of the World is a story about a girl trapped in a cult, oblivious to a raging pandemic that had devastated the world outside of her town, Red Creek. In order to save her brother’s life, she needs to defy the rules that have kept her within her dangerous society and embark on a desperate journey into the forbidden outside world. I loved this book because of the unique way it approaches faith, rules, and acceptance; it shows that in times of struggle, the things that set us apart from one another are the ones that make us strongest. -- Maya


Staff Pick Badge
Clap When You Land Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062882769
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 5th, 2020

Clap When You Land is a novel that displays the brilliance of poetry and introduces you to the perspectives of two sisters. Camino is a girl living in the Dominican Republic and has dreams of becoming a doctor in New York City but first she has to escape the devious El Cero. Yashira wants to be normal living in New York City after quitting the chess club and deeply disappointing her father. When Camino and Yashira's father dies in a plain crash the sisters uncover all the secrets their father was hiding and form a powerful bond. Elizabeth Acevedo writes a story that will leave you feeling amazed and inspired. -- Annika


Staff Pick Badge
Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince Cover Image
By Liz Kessler, Erin Farley (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781536213126
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - March 10th, 2020

This is a fast, adventurous and entertaining tale of the half girl, half mermaid, Emily Windsnap. If you love fantasy, this is incredible option! I loved this book because it continued the amazing tale of Emily and her friends and how they yet again break through challenge after challenge. If you haven't read the other books in the series, I recommend you read them first, but if you haven't, it still a great choice! -- Anoushka


Staff Pick Badge
The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316515542
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 24th, 2020

Sunny St. James is a girl with a transplant heart. When she was little, her Mom became alcoholic and sent Sunny to live with her best friend Kate. Sunny meets her Mom for the first time in years and they are able to form a remarkable relationship. Meanwhile, Sunny makes a new friend but can't figure out how she feels about her. This is a book about secrets, friendships and complex relationships. The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James is an unforgettable and brilliant book! -- Annika


Staff Pick Badge
Planet Earth Is Blue Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780525646570
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - May 14th, 2019

Planet Earth is blue is a beautiful story about a girl named Nova who has Autism. When she was little, Nova and her older sister Bridget were put in the foster system. Their foster family changed frequently, but no matter what Bridget was always with Nova. When people called Nova the R word Bridget was always there to stand up for her little sister. Now Bridget is gone, and Nova has to find her before the Shuttle launches off into space. Planet Earth is Blue is a wonderful tale full of sisterhood and love. -- Annika


Staff Pick Badge
Savvy Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142414330
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - March 23rd, 2010

Savvy is a magical story that will amaze you! It is about a girl named Mibs whose family gets a savvy (a supernatural power), the day they turn 13. The day before Mibs' 13th birthday, her father is in a car accident and is severely injured. He is taken to the hospital in a neighboring town. Mibs runs away with 2 of her brothers and the preacher's kids to get to her father. Will Mibs savvy be able to save her father? Savvy is a remarkable story about friendship and family. -- Annika


Staff Pick Badge
The Breadwinner Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781554987658
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Groundwood Books - May 12th, 2015

The Breadwinner is a really touching story. Parvana has a truly amazing story to tell to all people. After reading this book you'll want to read it over and over and over again. Parvana and her friends have amazing personalities and they are unstoppable. I recommend this book to every person out there! Funny or sad this book is just incredible. Parvana's father is arrested and she will do anything to get him back. Find out what happens next in the Breadwinner! (p.s. this is a series). -- Isabella


Staff Pick Badge
My Survival: A Girl on Schindler's List Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338593792
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - December 26th, 2019

My Survival A Girl on Schindler's list is from Rena's perspective and is about a girl and her mother and their journey through World War II as Jewish people. Oskar Schindler was a man who needed workers in his bullet factory and lucky for him and the workers at Auschwitz were nearby. Does Rena survive? How does Oskar save their lives, and why? Read this book to find out! Readers of Prisoner-B3087 will really enjoy this book. -- Keeleigh


Staff Pick Badge
Sunnyside Plaza Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316531207
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

Sunnyside Plaza is a home for people with disabilities. Sallie has lived at Sunnyside Plaza most of her life. One day someone suddenly dies! No one knows what to do, what will happen to them? Read this book to find out! Readers of Charlie and Frog will love this book. -- Keeleigh


Staff Pick Badge
The Year We Fell From Space Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338236361
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - October 15th, 2019

The Year We All Fell From Space is about a girl named Liberty and the struggles of her parents getting a divorce. At least she has the stars to rely on and when they give her a sign to make a bargain will she keep her half of the bargain? Will she be able to put her family back together again? Readers of The War That Saved My Life will love this book! -- Keeleigh


Staff Pick Badge
Jinxed Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781492683742
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

I recommend Jinxed because it has lots of twists and turns and it's full of surprises! The author's words painted a picture in my head which made it more interesting. I couldn't stop reading it because I wanted to know what would happen next! The main character faces many challenges to her dreams and lots of relationship challenges. Her friend Tobias takes her by surprise with his actions and thoughts. You'll enjoy the build-up! -- Maralinda


Staff Pick Badge
Homer's Excellent Adventure Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781944821876
Availability: Out of Print
Published: CBAY Books - April 7th, 2020

The book Homer's Excellent Adventure by P.J. Hoover was an amazing read! It was a great retelling of the book Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure and is sure to catch your attention if you love mythology. It is about a boy who needs a story to tell his teacher or he will lose everything he loves. He goes into the past and fights monsters and prays to gods. Will Homer find the excellent story he needs or will he lose his farm and his mother? Find out by reading Homer's Excellent Adventure! -- Riley


Staff Pick Badge
The Librarian of Auschwitz (Special Edition) Cover Image
By Antonio Iturbe, Lilit Thwaites (Translated by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250258038
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - October 1st, 2019

Being Jewish, The Librarian of Auschwitz was especially hard for me to get through. However, I am very glad I have read it. While it is full of suspense and sadness, this book is also full of hope. I felt like I was in the characters' shoes, and was experiencing what they were. This was an amazing book, that I would highly recommend to anyone interested in World War II and the Holocaust. -- Sabrina


Staff Pick Badge
The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250196705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - January 8th, 2019

When you read a lot, sometimes you don't remember every scene of a book, but The Remarkable Journey Of Coyote Sunrise was not at all like that. I loved this book so much and it gave me a different perspective on how some people choose to live. The characters give you something to think about besides just the plot of the book, as they are intriguing and complex. I love how this story is told and if you like cats, Ivan may be one of your favorite characters. -- Sabrina


Staff Pick Badge
Akata Witch Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780142420911
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - July 11th, 2017

I didn't think I'd find Akata Witch super interesting, but I couldn't peel my eyes off it once I started. Akata Witch gives an amazing way to learn about a different culture and has relatable characters. If you're looking for a book that has a touch of magic, beautiful descriptions, and an amazing friendship, I would totally recommend this book!!! -- Sabrina


Staff Pick Badge
Malamander (The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea) Cover Image
By Thomas Taylor, Tom Booth (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536207224
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Walker Books US - September 10th, 2019

The Malamander takes place on Eerie on Sea, a foggy little town full of mysteries. Follow a lost and founder named Herbie Lemon as he joins his friends to discover the truth behind the legend of the Malamander. Will the uncanny Mermonkey, the town doctor, the beachcomber or the local librarian be the key to saving the Malamander? This book will have you questioning peoples true intentions. -- Brady


Staff Pick Badge
It's the End of the World as I Know It Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735228016
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - September 24th, 2019

It's The End of the World as We Know It is a great book written by Matthew Landis. In the book, Derrick is sure that an apocalypse is coming in a few weeks. Derrick tries to prepare for the worst and his neighbor Misty offers to help. When the day of the predicted apocalypse arrives it happens in a way he least expected, but it helped him learn about himself, and his friends and family! I think fans of Gordon Korman will love this novel because it is intriguing and interesting from beginning to end. -- Finn


I think the Lighting Thief by Rick Riordan is an amazing book.Its the perfect combination of Greek Mythology and today's world. Its the first book of the exciting Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I would recommend this book to any one who likes action-packed, exciting, interesting novels. Overall I would rate this book 5 stars! -- Finn


Staff Pick Badge
A Tale of Magic... Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316523479
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

A Tale of Magic is a beautiful, breathtaking and remarkable fairy tale. Brystal Evergreen is an intelligent girl in the Southern Kingdom who loves to read and perform magic. Unfortunately, it is against the law for Brystal to do things she loves and she is sent away to The Bootstrap Correctional Facility for Troubled Young Women where she is treated horribly. Thankfully, Brystal is rescued by a fairy called Madam Weatherberry who will teach her how to control her magic. It is not long until Brystal's skills are tested when a conflict occurs in the Northern Kingdom. I highly recommended this magical tale! -- Annika 


Staff Pick Badge
Skyjacked Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338047417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - July 30th, 2019

Skyjacked is one of the most intense books I have ever read. When five high school kids find themselves in the middle of a hijacking it's a matter of life or death. The Air Force might blow them up - maximum death toll 5 kids, 1 chaperone and 2 pilots. Can they figure out who the hijacker is before it's too late? Paul Griffin wrote one of the best books I've ever read! This is a must read for people who enjoy action. -- Wyatt


Staff Pick Badge
The Science of Breakable Things Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781524715694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - May 21st, 2019

The Science of Breakable Things is a fun and well written book. Natalie's Mom is in a deep state of depression and Natalie makes it her mission to help her. Natalie, her best friend Twig, and the school nerd, Dari, go on an adventure that takes an unexpected twist. I loved the liveliness of the characters and I highly recommend this book. -- Anoushka


Staff Pick Badge
Belly Up (FunJungle) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416987321
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - July 5th, 2011

Belly Up is an exciting mystery novel. Teddy Fitzroy and his friend Summer are trying to solve the case of who killed FunJungle's beloved mascot, Henry Hippo. FunJungle is a huge and remarkable Zoo and tourist attraction. Their investigation proves to be a frightening and eventful journey. I highly recommend this book if you are fond of animals, mystery and adventure. Belly Up is a fun and enjoyable read. -- Annika


Staff Pick Badge
A Night Divided (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545682442
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 24th, 2018

The wall went up overnight. A Night Divided is a historical fiction about Greta, a 12-year-old girl, and her family divided by the Berlin Wall. Her father and brother are on the West side, while she, her mother, and her other brother are on the East side. Greta is determined to escape to the West. This is one of my favorite historical fiction books ever! I would recommend to fans of The Book Thief. -- Logan


Staff Pick Badge
Level 13 (A Slacker Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338286205
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - June 25th, 2019

Level 13 is another great book by Gordon Korman. When Cameron Boxer wants to start a streaming channel, he has to find a way to hand off the responsibilities of the P.A.G. (Positive Action Group) he created to someone else. So he spreads the rumor that he has bad grades and uses the extra time on his channel. It works so well he even has some of the smartest kids in school giving him answers to tests! But when the Principal makes him the Valedictorian, the entire school hates him. Can he make it up to them? A great read for people who enjoy realistic fiction. -- Wyatt


Staff Pick Badge
Elementals: Ice Wolves Cover Image
By Amie Kaufman, Levente Szabo (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062457998
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - February 26th, 2019

When the little trust between the Ice Wolves and Scorch Dragons is broken, Anders and his twin sister, Rayna, find themselves desperately trying to stop the next Great Battle. Can they do it? A must read for fans of action and fantasy, the Elementals Series is one of the best series I have ever read! -- Wyatt


Staff Pick Badge
Contagion (The Dark Matter Trilogy) Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781580899895
Availability: Special Order
Published: Charlesbridge Teen - July 9th, 2019

I would recommend this book to readers that enjoy sci-fi novels. This book kept me on the edge of my seat! Two teenagers are living in Scotland when a deadly epidemic starts. Can they survive? The only thing I didn't like was that one of the characters was a ghost. Overall, Contagion is a great read, and I can't wait for the second book to come out! -- Logan


Staff Pick Badge
Dry Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481481960
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

This is one of my favorite Neal Shusterman books. When the taps go dry everyone is fighting for water. Can Alyssa and Henry survive? I would recommend this book to readers who like apocalyptic books. I loved the character development in Dry. It was a total page turner; I loved it! -- Logan


Staff Pick Badge
The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780525646402
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - April 9th, 2019

I would recommend this book to readers who like dark twists and turns. When Maisie, on her 10th birthday, opens the door to an infinite darkness, the reader's nerves kick in. Maisie faces obstacles to find out how to stop the infinite black by herself. This book kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't stop reading it! I guarantee you will love this book! -- Tylie


Staff Pick Badge
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781481455923
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 1st, 2015

"All the stories are true." The Mortal Instruments series is a spectacular series about forbidden romance, demons, angels, and everything in between. From the very beginning to the end the action never stops. I fell in love with the fantastic world Cassandra Clare created, full of characters of different backgrounds and personalities into a fight to protect all: humans, werewolves, vampires, warlocks, faeries, and shadowhunters. The novels will capture your time and the world will capture your heart. I highly suggest picking up City of Bones! -- Zoey


Staff Pick Badge
Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062838377
Availability: Not Currently On The Shelf, But We Can Ship It To You In 3-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - April 2nd, 2019

The Strangers is a fast-paced book and a great read. It was edgy but interesting for some readers and it has shocking twists and turns. My favorite character was Emma who may not be the oldest but shes the smartest. The book was sad at some points but the characters recover from a difficult experience. I would recommend this book to children from nine to thirteen who enjoy a good adventure. -- Tylie


Staff Pick Badge
The Revenge of Magic Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481485784
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - February 4th, 2020

Revenge of Magic is a book of mystery and action. Fort finds himself in a sticky situation when his world is flipped upside down. He finds himself in a magic school where everyone is leery of him and he doesn't know why. Secrets unfold the deeper you get in the book. If you love magic and mystery you'll LOVE this book. -- Brady