Staff Pick Badge
Troy: The Greek Myths Reimagined Cover Image
$29.95
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jul 29 9:19pm
(FICTION FANTASY)

Staff Reviews


Everyone knows the classic story of the fall of Troy, or at least parts of it. Stephen Fry has collected the scattered sources to synthesize a coherent story of Troy, from its earliest beginnings to its fall. With his signature humor, Fry brings new life to the characters and events that are simultaneously familiar and millennia distant. Even as a lifelong mythology nerd, there were new things for me to learn while being highly entertained. If you like mythology, Stephen Fry, or want to read the Iliad but feel daunted by the prospect, then this is the book for you!

— From What Kathleen Is Reading

Description


In this brilliant conclusion to his bestselling Mythos trilogy, legendary author and actor Stephen Fry retells the tale of the Trojan War.

Full of tragic heroes, intoxicating love stories, and the unstoppable force of fate, there is no conflict more iconic than the Trojan War. Troy is the story of the epic battle retold by Fry with drama, humor, and vivid emotion. Achilles, Hector, Odysseus, Helen, their lovers, and their mortal enemies all burn bright in Fry's compelling prose. Illustrated throughout with classical art inspired by the myths, this gorgeous volume invites you to explore a captivating world with a brilliant storyteller as your guide.

• BELOVED AUTHOR: Stephen Fry is an icon whose signature wit and mellifluous style makes this retelling utterly unique. Fans will love hearing his interpretation, whether they are familiar with the original Greek myths or not.
• TIMELESS STORIES: For fans of Neil Gaiman's Norse Mythology, Madeline Miller's Circe or Song of Achilles, or Pat Barker's The Silence of the Girls, this is the perfect next great read. These ancient tales never get old.
• STUNNING SERIES CONCLUSION: Mythos and Heroes, the first two installments in the trilogy, were international bestsellers. Now fans can read the thrilling third book.
• GORGEOUS GIFT: With a vibrant contemporary design, full-color artwork throughout, and shimmering metallic highlights on the jacket, this book makes a superb present.

About the Author


Stephen Fry is an award-winning comedian, actor, presenter, and director. He rose to fame alongside Hugh Laurie in A Bit of Fry and Laurie (which he cowrote with Laurie) and Jeeves and Wooster and was unforgettable as General Melchett in Blackadder. He hosted over 180 episodes of QI and has narrated all seven of the Harry Potter novels for the audiobook recordings. He is the bestselling author of four novels—Revenge, Making History, The Hippopotamus, and The Liar—as well as three volumes of autobiography—Moab is my Washpot, The Fry Chronicles, and More Fool Me.

Praise For…


"Fry's narrative, artfully humorous and rich in detail, breathes life and contemporary relevance into these ancient tales, revealing connections between myth and modern language, art and culture."

- The Guardian (UK)



"There’s nothing dry about Mr. Fry’s exuberant stories. They’re droll, witty and full of pathos. The books are handsome too, illustrated in full color with photos of classical art and works by old masters."

The Wall Street Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9781797207070
ISBN-10: 1797207075
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: June 29th, 2021
Pages: 288
Language: English