Elephant Touch: A Novel By Susan  R. Greenway Cover Image
$14.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


For fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish, Elephant Touch is a contemporary middle grade novel about overcoming grief that will touch the hearts of its readers.

Since the sudden loss of her mother, Quinn has been inconsolable. Her aunt brings her to volunteer at a Thai elephant sanctuary, hoping it will be a healing experience—but when Quinn learns about the previous abuse of the elephants she’s there to help, she’s overcome with even more grief.

While crying alone by the river one day, Quinn has a magical encounter with an adult elephant. She marvels at the elephant’s show of compassion, and they develop a strong connection. But when an orphaned baby elephant, also grieving her mother’s death, arrives at the sanctuary in fragile health, Quinn is afraid to get involved. To help save the baby elephant’s life, she must be courageous and use her newfound ability to connect with the elephants—not to mention accept the support of her new human friends. If she can channel her grief into action, she just might find the community and support she’s been missing. But can she find the courage to do it?

About the Author


Susan R. Greenway grew up in California, where she was fortunate to live in a family that loved books, music, and the beauty of nature. In addition to reading and writing, Susan also loves being in the mountains or at the ocean. Formerly, she was an elementary school teacher and a reading specialist, vocations that helped her rediscover her love of children’s books. Elephant Touch is her debut book, inspired by an experience she had with an elephant in Thailand. Susan lives in Redmond, Washington, with her husband and their dog.

Praise For…


“A tender-hearted story of loss and love. Quinn breaks the rules to save a baby elephant; can she do the same for herself?” 
Kirby Larson, author of Newbery Honoree Hattie Big Sky

“Ms. Greenway’s debut novel is equal parts sorrow, joy, and wonder. A grieving girl develops a special bond with a young elephant as they both struggle with the loss of their mothers. A beautifully written novel that stayed with me long after the story ended!” 
Dan Richards, author of Stu Truly and Stu Truly: First Kiss

“Elephant Touch transports you to a remarkable elephant sanctuary in Thailand, where twelve-year-old Quinn is on her own journey through grief, healing, and growing up. This sincere yet ultimately uplifting story reminds us of the transformative power of connecting to nature . . . and to each other. It is sure to touch your heart, as it did mine.” 
Laurie Ann Thompson, author of Be a Changemaker: How to Start Something that Matters and ALA Schneider Family Book Award winner Emmanuel’s Dream

“This story captured my heart. An exciting adventure and a healing journey, Elephant Touch will enchant animal lovers, travelers, kids dealing with grief, and anyone who loves a great story.” 
Tara Dairman, author of The Girl from Earth's End and the All Four Stars series
Product Details
ISBN: 9781684632688
ISBN-10: 1684632684
Publisher: SparkPress
Publication Date: September 17th, 2024
Pages: 160
Language: English